Skip to main content Site Map

Department of Critical Care Medicine Team

DCCM is staffed by a team of highly experienced and professional doctors and nurses who are supported by other healthcare professionals including physiotherapists, dietitians, pharmacists, radiographers and biomedical technicians.

Medical care is provided by specialist doctors trained to look after very ill patients (intensivists), and supported by doctors training to be specialists in intensive care, anaesthesia, emergency medicine, internal medicine and surgery.

Many nurses are specialised through post-graduate training and qualifications in intensive care. Patients requiring intensive care treatment have individual nurses caring for them. High dependency patients are cared for by nurses who are also looking after other patients.

Our people

Service clinical director

Kerry Benson-Cooper

Medical team


  • Dr Kerry Benson-Cooper - Service Clinical Director, orthopaedic/vascular and upper GI surgery link

  • Dr Rob Bevan - CICM President other portfolio's TBC
  • Dr Kirstin Bond - Portfolio's TBC
  • Dr Kirk Freeman - Equipment, Facilities & IT lead, donation link doctor, smo rostering, renal link
  • Dr Dave Harvey - Airway lead, supervisor of training, social committee, anaesthesia/palliative care link
  • Dr Craig Hourigan - Deputy Director, Chair of quality & safety committee, CICM NZ national committee, SMO rostering emergency department link
  • Dr Kylie Julian - Second part CICM examiner, regional mentoring coordinator, patient/bereavement follow-up, donation link doctor, smo rostering, general medicine link
  • Dr Stephen Lo - Education lead, echocardiography lead, ultrasound lead, cardiology link

  • Dr Colin McArthur - Research lead

  • Dr Stuart Millar - Mortality and morbidity lead, hepatology, RMO rostering, obstetrics and gynaecology link

  • Dr Chris Poynter - Supervisor of training, welfare lead, sustainability, neurology and neurosurgical link
  • Dr Jonathon Taylor - Research
  • Dr Laura Tincknell - RMO rostering, BASICS and Part 3 CICM Course convenor, welfare
  • Dr Tony Smith - Trauma and helicopter emergency medical service (HEMS) lead, epidemic/disaster planning, trauma / general surgical link
  • Dr Simon Versteeg - Portfolio's TBC



  • Dr Chris Hands
  • Dr Barnaby Lewin
  • Dr Hamish Wright



  • 15 registrars on 6 or 12 monthly rotations

Nursing team

Nurse unit manager

  • Janine Rouse – Co-Chair of the senior staff meeting & staff recruitment/development


Charge nurse

  • Malinda Lucas


Clinical nurse consultant

  • Dayle Pearman


Clinical charge nurses

  • Cerian Eddy - Social committee and staff welfare

  • Helen Greenway – Long term patient care, PrisMax teaching & auditor, staff vaccinator

  • Paul Guirey – Ventilation teaching and KPIs

  • Karen Hekelaar - Health and safety, staff vaccinator

  • Andrew Lau - TrendCare & IRR testing lead

  • Carrie Nelson – Staff roster, simulation & multiple admission plan

  • Cindy Thompson – Bereavement team co-ordinator

  • Christine Morrison - TBC


Nurse educators

  • Deedee Chinyama

  • Erika Lackey-Ruwald

  • Rachael McConnochie


Clinical coaches

  • Kaylee Nam

  • Michelle Managh

  • Shafura Begum


Research nurses

  • Yan Chen

  • Caroline O'Connor
  • Hiromi Nakamuro

  • Lauren West


Donation link nurses

  • Caroline O'Connor

  • Gaby Wicks


Equipment & product coordinators

  • Sharon Hwang

  • Analiza King


Staff nurses

  • 110 full time equivalent staff nurses

Allied Health professionals


  • Jason Qu
  • Vicki Tricker


  • Ceara Mellon

  • Zach Lim

  • Kane White



  • Varsha Asrani

Clinical Engineering

  • Peter Hodges

Support staff

Health Care Assistants

  • Rajeshni Dutt

  • Ala Daunakamakama

  • Shiksha Grover



  • Jay Dasari

  • Sau Leilua

  • Sunny Sharma
  • Venit Suvanit
  • H Chunn Tea


Clerical Lead

  • Maria Hui

Ward Clerks

  • Kamya Bajaj

  • Penelope Pama
  • Rekha Patel
  • Julie Philps

  • Sharlene Webb